The Erth Dragons #1: The Wearle | Scholastic Canada

Our Books

The Erth Dragons #1: The Wearle

By Chris D'Lacey   

Scholastic Inc | ISBN 9780545900348 Paperback
320 Pages | 5.25" x 7.54" | Ages 8 to 12

Scholastic Inc | ISBN 9780545900188 Hardcover
320 Pages | 5.87" x 8.52" | Ages 8 to 12

Scholastic Inc | ISBN 9780545900553 Ebook
320 Pages | Ages 8 to 12

New York Times bestselling author Chris d'Lacey has woven a brand-new epic fantasy with the story of the first dragons sent to Erth!

A Wearle of dragons set out on an expedition from their home planet and was never heard from again. Now, a new Wearle, determined to find the first, has come to the place its creatures call Erth. Gabrial, who still has the blue scales of a young dragon, is eager to prove himself, and to find his missing father. But when Gabrial causes an accident that results in a baby dragon going missing, he’ll have to prove himself worthy of remaining with the Wearle at all. Across the scorch line, most Hom, or humans, live in fear of the dragons. But a boy named Ren is too fascinated to stay away, and will soon find his fate intertwined with that of the dragons. When conflict erupts between the dragons and humankind, Ren does the unimaginable, crossing into dragon territory. Will he be able to gain the dragons’ trust and prevent an all-out war? NYT bestseller Chris d’Lacey sweeps readers off on an extraordinary adventure bursting with majestic creatures and one boy with the heart of a dragon.

Raves & reviews:

Praise for the UNICORNE Files series:

“D’Lacey manages to make the implausible seem possible.” —School Library Journal

“A lively and enjoyable read.” —Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“A quest laden with suspense and action.... Will leave readers wanting more.” —Booklist

Praise for the Last Dragon Chronicles:

“ Chris d’Lacey’s writing is sometimes exciting and sometimes silly. But that seems in keeping with the

worlds he created — one that seems almost real and one that is beyond imagination.”

The Washington Post

“An entertaining adventure.” —Kirkus Reviews

Check out more books in this series!